There goes the baker with his tray like always…

So these past couple of days I have felt like a serious stereotypical grown up woman (Italian) housewife. I did things like made lentil soup complete with the de-casing of sausage, which is territory I have never crossed into before. I cleaned things with vinegar, including soaked my jeans in it, I washed a sweater by hand, did a lot of laundry, and tonight before the rest of my roommates come home I am planning on sweeping, mopping, and making ginger persimmon bread, inspired by my idol.

But that’s kind of beside the point. I was planning on updating on my Paris trip, that at this point was about a month ago. But with all of December’s busy-ness, I got a a little behind!  I got lucky enough to explore the French life with my brother and sister for a pretty solid amount of time.

Paris is…busy. And beautiful. They really know how to make places attractive to tourists. I ate all of it up. I wanted to eat at all the perfectly manicured restaurants, to sit outside and watch people go by and pay ridiculous amounts of money for the food and the atmosphere.

Instead we bought baguettes and brie cheese and sat on steps and ate that for our meals.

I was beyond okay with that. French baguettes are magical. And French people actually walk into bakeries, order baguettes, are handed them wrapped in brown paper, and off they go, bustling through the streets with some crusty bread. So we tried to fit in.

Except, we did eat one meal in a restaurant. It didn’t look to fancy from the outside, but it was the most incredible quiche loraine in the world. Maybe one of the best lunches. Besides my lentil soup, of course.

Our days mainly consisted of walking into many French bakeries, either botching the word or saying it with an Italian accent and walking around with our pain au chocolat

or something outstanding picked out from these gems

Some days, we acted like tourists. Oh hey Notre Dame!

Hung with Mona. And we deduced that she is definitely smiling. It’s also known as the Italian smile and if you have ever taken a picture with a group of Italians, it should look familiar to you too.

and got to see really cool things, like the Eiffel tour lighting up. That was kind of incredible.

Most of the time, we hung out in the side areas of Paris and consumed crepes whenever possible.

Leave a comment